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Child Abuse

315.1 PURPOSE AND SCOPE

The purpose of this policy is to provide guidelines for the investigation of suspected
child abuse. This policy also addresses when California Department of State Hospitals
(DSH) employees are required to notify the county Child Protective Services (CPS) of
suspected child abuse.

315.1.1 DEFINITIONS
Definitions related to this policy include:

Child - Unless otherwise specified by a cited statute, a child is any person under the
age of 18 years.

Child abuse - Any offense or attempted offense involving violence or neglect with a
child victim when committed by a person responsible for the child’s care or any other act
that would mandate notification to a social service agency or law enforcement (Pen.
Code § 11165.9; Pen. Code § 11166).

315.2 POLICY
DSH will investigate all reported incidents of alleged criminal child abuse, notify the

appropriate allied agency, and ensure CPS is notified as required by law.

315.3 MANDATORY NOTIFICATION
The child protection agency shall be notified when (Pen. Code § 11166):

(@ There is a known or suspected instance of child abuse or neglect reported,
which is alleged to have occurred as a result of the action of a person
responsible for the child's welfare, or

(b) A person responsible for the child's welfare fails to adequately protect the
child from abuse when the person knew or reasonably should have known
that the child was in danger of abuse.
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The District Attorney’s office shall be notified via the appropriate allied agency in all
instances of known or suspected child abuse or neglect reported to DSH. Reports only
involving neglect by a person, who has the care or custody of a child, to provide adequate
food, clothing, shelter, medical care or supervision where no physical injury to the child
has occurred should not be reported to the District Attorney (Pen. Code § 11166).

When the abuse or neglect occurs at a licensed facility or is alleged to have resulted
from the actions of a person who is required to have a state license (e.g., foster homes,
group homes, day care), notification shall also be made, via the appropriate allied
agency, to the California Department of Social Services or other applicable licensing
authority (Pen. Code 11166.1; Pen. Code 11166.2).

For purposes of notification, the abuse or neglect includes physical injury or death inflicted
by other than accidental means upon a child by another person; sexual abuse
(Pen. Code § 11165.1); neglect (Pen. Code § 11165.2); the willful harming or injuring of
a child or the endangering of the person or health of a child (Pen. Code § 11165.3); and
unlawful corporal punishment or injury (Pen. Code § 11165.4). Child abuse or neglect
does not include a mutual affray between minors, nor does it include an injury caused
by the reasonable and necessary force used by a peace officer acting within the course
and scope of his/her employment as a peace officer.

315.3.1 NOTIFICATION PROCEDURE
Notification should occur as follows (Pen. Code § 11166):

(a) Notification shall be made immediately, or as soon as practicable, by
telephone, fax or electronic transmission.

(b) A written follow-up report should be forwarded within 36 hours of receiving
the information concerning the incident.

Copyright Lexipol, LLC 2020/04/27,
All Rights Reserved. Published with permission by
California Department of State Hospitals



California Department of State Hospitals
Policy Manual

315.4 QUALIFIED INVESTIGATORS
Qualified investigators should be available for child abuse investigations. These
investigators should:

(@) Conduct interviews in child appropriate interview facilities.

(b) Be familiar with forensic interview techniques specific to child abuse
investigations.

(c) Present all cases of alleged child abuse to the prosecutor for review.

(d) Coordinate with other enforcement agencies, social service agencies and
school administrators as needed.

(e) Provide referrals to therapy services, victim advocates, guardians and
support forthe child and family as appropriate.

(f)  Participate in or coordinate with multidisciplinary investigative teams as
applicable (Welf. & Inst. Code § 18961.7).
315.5 INVESTIGATIONS AND REPORTING
In all reported or suspected cases of child abuse, a report will be written. Officers shall
write a report even if the allegations appear unfounded or unsubstantiated.

Investigations and reports related to suspected cases of child abuse should address, as
applicable:

(@) Theoverallbasis for the contact. This shouldbe done by the investigating
officerin all circumstances where a suspected child abuse victim was
contacted.

(b) The exigent circumstances that existed if officers interviewed the child victim
without the presence of a parent or guardian.

(c) Any relevant statements the child may have made and to whom he/she
made the statements.

(d) If a child was taken into protective custody, the reasons, the name and title
of the person making the decision, and why other alternatives were not
appropriate.
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(c) Documentation of any visible injuries or any injuries identified by the child. This
should include photographs of such injuries, if practicable.

(d)  Whether the child victim was transported for medical treatment or a medical
examination.

(e) Whether the victim identified a household member as the alleged perpetrator,
and a list of the names of any other children who may reside in the residence.

(f Identification of any prior related reports or allegations of child abuse,
including other jurisdictions, as reasonably known.

(9) Previous addresses of the victim and suspect.

(h)  Other potential withesses who have not yet been interviewed, such as
relatives or others close to the victim’s environment.

All cases of the unexplained death of a child should be investigated as thoroughly as if it
had been a case of suspected child abuse (e.g., a sudden or unexplained death of an
infant).

315.5.1 EXTRA JURISDICTIONAL REPORTS

If a report of known or suspected child abuse or neglect that is alleged to have
occurred outside this jurisdiction is received, DSH employees shall ensure that
the caller is immediately transferred to the agency with proper jurisdiction for the
investigation of the case. If the caller cannot be successfully transferred to the
appropriate agency, a report shall be taken and immediately referred by telephone, fax
or electronic transfer to the agency with proper jurisdiction (Pen. Code 11165.9).

315.6 PROTECTIVE CUSTODY

Before taking any child into protective custody, the officer should make reasonable
attempts to contact CPS. Generally, removal of a child from his/her family, guardian or
other responsible adult should be left to the child welfare authorities when they are
present or have become involved in an investigation.
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Generally, employees of DSH should remove a child from his/her parent or
guardian without a court order only when no other effective alternative is reasonably
available and immediate action reasonably appears necessary to protect the child.
Prior to taking a child into protective custody, the officer should take reasonable steps
to deliver the child to another qualified parent or legal guardian, unless it
reasonably appears that the release would endanger the child or result in
abduction. If this is not a reasonable option, the officer shall ensure that the child is
delivered to CPS. Whenever practicable, the officer should inform the Watch
Commander of the circumstances prior to taking a child into protective custody. If prior
notification is not practicable, officers should contact a supervisor promptly after taking a
child into protective custody.

Children may only be removed from a parent or guardian in the following situations
when a court order cannot reasonably be obtained in a timely manner (Welf. & Inst.
Code § 305):

@ The officer reasonably believes the child is a person described in
Welfare and Institutions Code § 300, or a commercially exploited
child under Penal Code section 647 and Penal Code section 653.22, and
further has good cause to believe that any of the following conditions exist:

1. The child has an immediate need for medical care.
2. The child is in immediate danger of physical or sexual abuse.

3. The physical environment or the fact that the child is left unattended
poses an immediate threat to the child’s health or safety. In the case of
a child left unattended, the officer shall first attempt to locate and
determine if a responsible parent or guardian is available and capable of
assuming custody before taking the child into protective custody.

() The officer reasonably believes the child requires protective custody under
the provisions of Penal Code § 279.6, in one of the following circumstances:

1. It reasonably appears to the officer that a person is likely to conceal the
child, flee the jurisdiction with the child or, by flight or concealment, evade
the authority of the court.
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1. There is no lawful custodian available to take custody of the child.

2.  There are conflicting custody orders or conflicting claims to custody and
the parties cannot agree which party should take custody of the child.

3. The child is an abducted child.

(© Thechildis in the company of, or under the control of, a person arrested for Penal
Code
§ 278 (Detainment or concealment of child from legal custodian) or Penal Code section
278.5 (Deprivation of custody of a child or right to visitation) (Pen. Code §
279.6).

A child taken into protective custody shall be delivered to CPS unless otherwise directed
by court order.

315.6.1 CALIFORNIA SAFELY SURRENDERED BABY LAW

An individual having lawful custody of an infant less than 72 hours old is not guilty of
abandonment if the individual voluntarily surrenders physical custody of the infant to
personnel on-duty at a safe- surrender site, such as a hospital or fire department (Pen.
Code § 271.5). The law requires the surrender site to notify CPS.

315.6.2 NEWBORNS TESTING POSITIVE FOR DRUGS

Under certain circumstances, officers can be prohibited from taking a newborn who is the
subject of a proposed adoption into protective custody, even when the newborn has
tested positive for illegal drugs or the birth mother tested positive for illegal drugs.
Officers shall instead follow the provisions of Welfare and Institutions Code section 305.6
to ensure that the newborn is placed with the adoptive parents when it is appropriate.
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315.7 INTERVIEWS

315.7.1 PRELIMINARY INTERVIEWS

Absent extenuating circumstances or impracticality, officers should record
the preliminary interview with suspected child abuse victims. Officers should avoid
multiple interviews with a child victim and should attempt to gather only the information
necessary to begin an investigation. When practicable, investigating officers should
defer interviews until a person who is specially trained in such interviews is
available. Generally, child victims should not be interviewed in the home or
location where the alleged abuse occurred.

315.7.2 DETAINING SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE VICTIMS FOR AN INTERVIEW

An officer should not detain a child involuntarily who is suspected of being a victim
of child abuse solely for the purpose of an interview or physical exam without the
consent of a parent or guardian unless one of the following applies:

(a) Exigent circumstances exist, such as:

1.  Areasonable belief that medical issues of the child need to be
addressed immediately.

2. Areasonable belief that the child is or will be in danger of harm if the
interview or physical exam is not immediately completed.

3.  The alleged offender is the custodial parent or guardian and there is
reason to believe the child may be in continued danger.

(b) A court order or warrant has been issued.
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315.7.3 INTERVIEWS AT A SCHOOL

Any student at school who is a suspected victim of child abuse shall be afforded the
option of being interviewed in private or selecting any qualified available adult member
of the school staff to be present. The purpose of the staff member’s presence is to
provide comfort and support. The staff member shall not participate in the interview. The
selection of a staff member should be such that it does not burden the school with costs
or hardship (Pen. Code § 11174.3).

315.8 MEDICAL EXAMINATIONS

If the child has been the victim of abuse that requires a medical examination,
the investigating officer should obtain consent for such examination from the
appropriate parent, guardian or agency having legal custody of the child. The officer
should also arrange for the child’s transportation to the appropriate medical facility.

In cases where the alleged offender is the custodial parent or guardian and is refusing
consent for the medical examination, officers should notify the Watch Commander
before proceeding. If exigent circumstances do not exist or if state law does not provide
for officers to take the child for a medical examination, the Watch Commander should
consider obtaining a court order for such an examination.

315.9 DRUG-ENDANGERED CHILDREN

A coordinated response by law enforcement and social services agencies is appropriate
to meet the immediate and longer-term medical and safety needs of children exposed to
the manufacturing, trafficking or use of narcotics.
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315.9.1 SUPERVISOR
RESPONSIBILITIES The Investigations supervisor should:

(@) Work with professionals from the appropriate agencies, including CPS, other
law enforcement agencies, medical service providers and local prosecutors
to develop community specific procedures for responding to situations where
there are children endangered by exposure to methamphetamine labs or the
manufacture and trafficking of other drugs.

(b) Activate any available interagency response when an officer notifies the
Investigations supervisor that the officer has responded to a drug lab or other
narcotics crime scene where a child is present or where evidence indicates
that a child lives there.

315.9.2 OFFICER RESPONSIBILITIES
Officers responding to a drug lab or other narcotics crime scene where a child is present
or where there is evidence that a child lives should:

(@) Document the environmental, medical, social and other conditions of the child

using photography as appropriate and the checklist or form developed for this
purpose.

(b) Notify the Investigations supervisor so an interagency response can begin.
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315.10 STATE MANDATES AND OTHER RELEVANT LAWS
California requires or permits the following:

315.10.1 RELEASE OF REPORTS

Information related to incidents of child abuse or suspected child abuse shall be
confidential and may only be disclosed pursuant to state law and the Records
Maintenance and Release Policy (Pen. Code 841.5; Pen. Code § 11167.5).

315.10.2 CHILD DEATH REVIEW TEAM

DSH should cooperate with any interagency child death review team investigation. Written
and oral information relating to the death of a child that would otherwise be subject to
release restrictions may be disclosed to the child death review team upon written
request and approval of a supervisor (Pen. Code § 11174.32).

315.11 TRAINING
DSH should provide training on best practices in child abuse investigations to
employees tasked with investigating these cases. The training should include:

(a) Participating in multidisciplinary investigations, as appropriate.
(b) Conducting forensic interviews.

(c) Availability of therapy services for children and families.

(d) Availability of specialized forensic medical exams.

(e) Cultural competence (including interpretive services) related to child abuse
investigations.

() Availability of victim advocate or guardian ad litem support.
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